Rosemarked Cover

ROSEMARKED

Rosemarked #1
Author:
 Livia Blackburne
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Publication Date: November 7, 2017
Genre:
Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Age Range: 12 and up
Available Formats: Hardcover, Paperback, eBook
ISBN: 978-1484788554
Pages:
400
Add to Goodreads

A healer who cannot be healed . . .

When Zivah falls prey to the deadly rose plague, she knows it’s only a matter of time before she fully succumbs. Now she’s destined to live her last days in isolation, cut off from her people and unable to practice her art—until a threat to her village creates a need that only she can fill.

A soldier shattered by war . . .

Broken by torture at the hands of the Amparan Empire, Dineas thirsts for revenge against his captors. Now escaped and reunited with his tribe, he’ll do anything to free them from Amparan rule—even if it means undertaking a plan that risks not only his life but his very self.

Thrust together on a high-stakes mission to spy on the capital, the two couldn’t be more different: Zivah, deeply committed to her vow of healing, and Dineas, yearning for vengeance. But as they grow closer, they must find common ground to protect those they love. And amidst the constant fear of discovery, the two grapple with a mutual attraction that could break both of their carefully guarded hearts.

This smart, sweeping fantasy with a political edge and a slow-burning romance will capture fans of The Lumatere Chronicles and An Ember in the Ashes.

READ AN EXCERPT

PURCHASE ROSEMARKED:

Print:

Amazon Barnes & Noble IndieBound  Target Walmart Books-A-Million Powell's City of Books Tattered Cover Book Store Books Inc. Kepler's Books Books & Books Book Depository Chapters (Indigo) Once Upon A Time Bookstore

eBook:

Amazon Kindle Nook Apple Books Kobo

Audiobook:

Audible

AWARDS & ACCOLADES:

  • An Amazon Best Book of November 2017
  • YALSA Teens Top Ten Nominee

CRITICAL PRAISE:

“This is a fast-paced, well-written, can’t-put-down fantasy that will appeal to a wide audience. A sequel will be in high demand. VERDICT Fans of Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in Ashes will be clamoring for more adventures with Zivah and Dineas.” —School Library Journal

“Blackburne’s latest is an engaging, mesmerizing read. With a clever, unique, premise, readers will be drawn into this story from the start. Zivah is an interesting, strong heroine, and Dineas, with his strength, fight, and passion, complements Zivah’s compassion. Distinctive and easily visualized characters set within an intricate plot is the highlight of this fantasy novel. Readers will not be able to put Rosemarked down.” —RT Book Reviews

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING:

“When I picked up this book, I thought it was going to be another cliche, poorly plotted fantasy novel with an unoriginal and badly written romance. I was wrong. So, so wrong. I wasn’t expecting what Rosemarked actually is: a political fantasy novel dealing with the ethics of healing, spying, tyranny, and radicalized patriotism with remarkable world-building, beautifully written and flawed characters, and a slow-burn romance that was enjoyable to read and didn’t feel at all forced.” —Rachael Sharp, YALSA Teens Top Ten Reviewer

“Fans of An Ember in the Ashes and The Winner’s Curse should give this a try! I highly recommend it for its complicated look at relationships, war, and healing.” —Brittani, Blogger at Inkdusted

VIDEO: HOW I PITCH ROSEMARKED (WARNING: MODERATE SPOILERS)

#BOOKSTAGRAM

Are you on Instagram? Make sure to tag your photos of “Rosemarked” with @lkblackburne & the following hashtags: #LiviaBlackburne & #Rosemarked